Best Competency Assessment Software for Labs
For the technical consultant, supervisor or lab manager who owes a signed competency assessment for every person on every test system. We read each product's own pages and documents against the duties in § 493.1413 and § 493.1451, and CMS's competency brochure.
The verdict by use case
Best overall for a moderate- or high-complexity lab
The only product here whose own page names every row: the six procedures, initial, 6-month and annual scheduling, profiles per test system, observer signatures and corrective action.
Best for a small lab that wants checklists ready to use
More than 130 instrument-specific observation checklists and a question library, in assessments that hold up to three dates: initial, semiannual and annual.
Best for a hospital point-of-care program
Certifies every operator by device type and locks expired operators out of connected devices, as its 2026 operator management overview documents.

Duty by duty
Each row is a duty Subpart M puts on the person who assesses competency, with its cite. A blank well means we found nothing on the vendor's own site, not that the product cannot do it.
- verified against a document
- stated by the vendor
- not stated
Scroll sideways for more vendors
| Requirement | 1MediaLab Compass | 2CAP Competency Assessment Hub | 3StaffReady Competency | 4TELCOR QML |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACovers all six assessment procedures§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) | MediaLab Compass: stated by the vendor | CAP Competency Assessment Hub: verified against a document | StaffReady Competency: stated by the vendor | TELCOR QML: not stated |
| BSchedules two assessments in the first year, then one a year§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) | MediaLab Compass: stated by the vendor | CAP Competency Assessment Hub: stated by the vendor | StaffReady Competency: not stated | TELCOR QML: not stated |
| CAssesses each test system, and again after a method or instrument change§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) | MediaLab Compass: stated by the vendor | CAP Competency Assessment Hub: stated by the vendor | StaffReady Competency: not stated | TELCOR QML: verified against a document |
| DRecords the sign-off of a qualified assessor§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) | MediaLab Compass: stated by the vendor | CAP Competency Assessment Hub: not stated | StaffReady Competency: stated by the vendor | TELCOR QML: not stated |
| EKeeps dated records an inspector can read§ 493.1235 | MediaLab Compass: stated by the vendor | CAP Competency Assessment Hub: verified against a document | StaffReady Competency: stated by the vendor | TELCOR QML: verified against a document |
| FTracks remedial training after a failed assessment§§ 493.1407(e)(12), 493.1445(e)(13) | MediaLab Compass: stated by the vendor | CAP Competency Assessment Hub: stated by the vendor | StaffReady Competency: not stated | TELCOR QML: not stated |
Product by product
MediaLab CompassColumn 1
What it is
Vastian's competency module for laboratories, sold under the MediaLab name. It assigns assessments by user group, builds checklists, problem-solving quizzes and blind-sample activities, and says it draws on more than 10,000 ready-made assessment templates.
Who it fits
A moderate- or high-complexity lab with several test systems and a technical consultant or supervisor who signs off, especially one that already keeps its procedures in MediaLab's document control.
What Subpart M asks, and what the vendor shows
ACovers all six assessment procedures
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
BSchedules two assessments in the first year, then one a year
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
CAssesses each test system, and again after a method or instrument change
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
DRecords the sign-off of a qualified assessor
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
EKeeps dated records an inspector can read
§ 493.1235 stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
FTracks remedial training after a failed assessment
§§ 493.1407(e)(12), 493.1445(e)(13) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
CAP Competency Assessment HubColumn 2
What it is
The College of American Pathologists' competency program, run on MediaLab's platform. It bundles a question library, more than 130 instrument-specific observation checklists from instrument makers and 67 CE courses in 11 disciplines.
Who it fits
A small lab, CAP-accredited or not, that wants ready-made checklists and quizzes for the analyzers it already runs rather than writing its own from the procedure manual.
What Subpart M asks, and what the vendor shows
ACovers all six assessment procedures
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) verified, source
BSchedules two assessments in the first year, then one a year
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
CAssesses each test system, and again after a method or instrument change
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
DRecords the sign-off of a qualified assessor
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) not stated; check with the vendor
EKeeps dated records an inspector can read
§ 493.1235 verified, source
FTracks remedial training after a failed assessment
§§ 493.1407(e)(12), 493.1445(e)(13) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
StaffReady CompetencyColumn 3
What it is
A cloud competency platform built for laboratories, pharmacies and point-of-care programs, with checklists, direct observations, problem-solving exercises and quizzes, plus its own staff scheduling module.
Who it fits
A health system lab that tracks competency for several departments in one place and wants staffing and competency records to share one employee list.
What Subpart M asks, and what the vendor shows
ACovers all six assessment procedures
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
BSchedules two assessments in the first year, then one a year
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) not stated; check with the vendor
CAssesses each test system, and again after a method or instrument change
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) not stated; check with the vendor
DRecords the sign-off of a qualified assessor
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
EKeeps dated records an inspector can read
§ 493.1235 stated, vendor page; check with the vendor
FTracks remedial training after a failed assessment
§§ 493.1407(e)(12), 493.1445(e)(13) not stated; check with the vendor
TELCOR QMLColumn 4
What it is
A point-of-care data manager whose operator module certifies each operator by device type, re-checks recertification every night and locks expired operators out of connected devices.
Who it fits
A hospital point-of-care coordinator with hundreds of glucose-meter or blood-gas operators. It records competency; the assessment content itself comes from your learning system or paper.
What Subpart M asks, and what the vendor shows
ACovers all six assessment procedures
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) not stated; check with the vendor
BSchedules two assessments in the first year, then one a year
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) not stated; check with the vendor
CAssesses each test system, and again after a method or instrument change
§§ 493.1413(b)(9), 493.1451(b)(9) verified, source
DRecords the sign-off of a qualified assessor
§§ 493.1413(b)(8), 493.1451(b)(8) not stated; check with the vendor
EKeeps dated records an inspector can read
§ 493.1235 verified, source
FTracks remedial training after a failed assessment
§§ 493.1407(e)(12), 493.1445(e)(13) not stated; check with the vendor
What Subpart M asks of a competency program
Every row of the plate map above comes from two paragraphs that read the same way: the technical consultant's duties for moderate complexity testing, § 493.1413(b)(8)–(9), and the technical supervisor's for high complexity testing, § 493.1451(b)(8)–(9). Our guide sets out what the competency rules ask in full. Paragraph (8) lists the procedures an assessment "must include, but are not limited to":
- Direct observations of routine patient test performance, including patient preparation, if applicable, specimen handling, processing and testing.
- Monitoring the recording and reporting of test results.
- Review of intermediate test results or worksheets, quality control records, proficiency testing results, and preventive maintenance records.
- Direct observation of performance of instrument maintenance and function checks.
- Assessment of test performance through testing previously analyzed specimens, internal blind testing samples or external proficiency testing samples.
- Assessment of problem solving skills.
Paragraph (9) sets the clock: the performance of each person who tests must be evaluated and documented "at least semiannually during the first year the individual tests patient specimens". The second sentence is the one new analyzers trip over: "Thereafter, evaluations must be performed at least annually unless test methodology or instrumentation changes, in which case, prior to reporting patient test results, the individual's performance must be reevaluated to include the use of the new test methodology or instrumentation" (§ 493.1413(b)(9)). The competency assessment form works out both due dates.
778
labs cited under D5209, competency assessment policies, in 2024: 4.8% of labs, second among standard-level deficiencies
Who may sign the assessment
CMS's brochure Assessing Personnel Competency (May 2025) names the assessor by complexity. In moderate complexity testing the technical consultant assesses, or someone who meets the technical consultant qualifications. In high complexity testing the technical supervisor assesses and may delegate in writing to a general supervisor who meets the qualifications. In a PPM lab the laboratory director does it. The brochure is blunt about the rest: "Personnel who don't meet the regulatory qualifications of a TC, TS, or GS cannot perform or be designated to perform competency assessments."
That is why the sign-off row matters more than it looks. A product that records an observer's signature records a name; it does not check the name against the qualifications in Subpart M. Keep the assessor's diploma, transcript or experience letter in the personnel file the surveyor reads beside the competency record.
Waived and PPM labs
"For laboratories only performing waived testing, CLIA does not require a competency assessment for Testing Personnel (TP), however, it is good laboratory practice." A PPM lab skips the instrument procedure: "PPM competency assessments only need to include five of the six procedures".
Takeaway
Before any demo, write your test systems down the side of a page and your testing staff across the top. Every filled cell is an assessment with six parts, signed by someone who meets the Subpart M qualifications for that role.
Count your assessments before you buy
What drives the work, and the size of the system you need, is the number of assessments you owe, so count them first. Take a physician office lab with three moderate-complexity test systems and three testing staff, one of them hired this year, that replaces one analyzer in the spring.
| Person | Test systems | Rounds | Assessments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Testing person, third year | 3 | 1 (annual) | 3 |
| Testing person, fifth year | 3 | 1 (annual) | 3 |
| New hire, first year of patient testing | 3 | 2 (semiannual) | 6 |
| Replaced analyzer: everyone who runs it, before they report | 1 | 1 each | 3 |
| Total for the year | 15 |
That is 15 assessments and 90 documented procedures in a year, from a lab most people would call tiny. The table counts by test system, which is the floor. CMS's competency brochure says the six procedures apply "for every test performed (even when multiple tests are part of a single testing platform)" and asks labs to assess tests with unique aspects, problems or procedures, giving ammonia received on ice as its example. Any test on a shared platform with its own handling steps adds a line.
Nothing in CLIA requires software. § 493.1235 asks for written policies the lab establishes and follows, and paragraph (9) of the consultant and supervisor duties asks for evaluation and documentation. A lab at 15 a year can run that from a dated form and a binder if one person owns the calendar. Software starts paying when the count runs into the dozens, when staff turn over, or when the person who owns the calendar works at another site.
Takeaway
Bring your own count to every demo and ask the vendor to load your test systems and staff, not their sample lab.
What no competency software does for you
It does not observe. Procedures (i) and (iv) are direct observations. A tablet checklist makes the observation faster to record; a qualified person still has to stand at the bench while the test runs and the maintenance is done.
It does not supply specimens. Procedure (v) needs previously analyzed specimens, internal blind samples or external proficiency testing samples. Proficiency testing helps, but CMS says it is "insufficient to meet all six procedures". Some PT providers sell competency samples: the American Proficiency Institute's competency programs, for example, ship pre-ordered samples in January or July and on-demand samples within two weeks of an order.
It does not replace training. CMS draws the line itself: "Training and personnel evaluations differ from competency assessments". Course completions belong in the training record; the six procedures belong in the competency record, and a surveyor reads them as two things.
Plan the exit before you sign
The record retention section, § 493.1105, lists test, quality control, proficiency testing and quality system records, but no category named competency records. Ask your accreditor or state agency how far back a surveyor will read, and make sure you can export every signed assessment. CAP's own page says Competency Assessment Hub records are saved online "for as long as you are enrolled in the program".
How this comparison was made
We read each vendor's product pages and, where one was published, its product documentation; 42 CFR 493 Subpart M and § 493.1235 on eCFR; and CMS's Assessing Personnel Competency brochure (May 2025), last on .
A filled well means we verified the claim against a document we could read and link: the vendor's own documentation or a regulator's record. An open ring means the vendor says so in its own material, but we found no document to check it against. A blank well means we found nothing either way, which does not prove the product lacks it.
Verdicts are editorial: no vendor can buy a verdict position or displace another vendor. This page carries no prices and no ratings; ask each vendor for a quote and a demo on your own test menu.
We compared competency software only. Products whose pages we could not read on the day, and learning systems built mainly for nursing, are left out. CMS notes that state, local and accreditation requirements may be more stringent than CLIA, so check your accreditor's checklist too.
Questions labs ask
Does a waived-only lab need competency assessment software?
No. CMS says that for labs performing only waived testing, CLIA does not require a competency assessment for testing personnel, though it calls one good laboratory practice. The duty starts with the first moderate complexity test.
How often must competency be assessed under CLIA?
At least twice in the first year a person tests patient specimens, then at least once a year. A change of test methodology or instrumentation brings a re-evaluation before that person reports patient results on it (§ 493.1413(b)(9), § 493.1451(b)(9)).
Can proficiency testing results count as a competency assessment?
As one part only. PT samples can serve procedure (v), and reviewing PT results is part of procedure (iii). CMS says PT is "insufficient to meet all six procedures" on its own.
Who can sign off a competency assessment?
In moderate complexity testing, the technical consultant or someone who meets those qualifications. In high complexity testing, the technical supervisor, who may delegate in writing to a qualified general supervisor. In a PPM lab, the laboratory director. See CMS's Assessing Personnel Competency brochure.
Does a PPM lab need all six procedures?
No. Direct observation of instrument maintenance and function checks does not apply, so a PPM assessment covers five of the six procedures.
How long should competency records be kept?
§ 493.1105 sets two years for most lab records but does not name competency records as a category. Ask your accreditor or state agency what a surveyor will expect to see, and keep the export of every signed assessment if you change systems.
Is a spreadsheet or a paper binder acceptable?
CLIA names no format. § 493.1235 asks for written policies to assess competency that the lab establishes and follows. A dated, signed paper form that covers the six procedures can meet the same rule a platform does; the platform mainly saves the scheduling and the chasing.