Best Lab Billing Companies (Outsourced Lab RCM)
For a lab director or owner deciding whether to hand billing to an outside company. We read each company's own service pages, the Medicare enrollment form and CMS's rules on billing agents, then mapped five laboratory billing services against the work they take on: claims, appeals, patient statements, payer enrollment, reporting and the LIS link. Billing software you run yourself is a separate comparison.
The verdict by use case
Best for a small independent lab
Its service pages cover every row on this page, including Medicare enrollment and revalidation, and it says it takes on labs as small as a single site.
Best for a hybrid model
It sells software, full-service billing and a hybrid on one platform, so a lab can outsource part of the work, keep the rest in-house and change the split later.
Best for molecular and esoteric labs
Its billing team builds appeal plans with letters tailored to medical necessity and investigational denials, and it runs payer enrollment as a service of its own.

What each company takes on
Rows A to F are the jobs a lab hands over; G to I are the specialties each company names. A blank well means we found nothing on the company's public pages, not that it does not do the work.
- verified against a document
- stated by the firm
- not stated
Scroll sideways for more firms
| Requirement | 1PGM Billing | 2Quadax | 3XiFin | 4TELCOR RCS | 5ADSRCM |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ASubmits claims and works rejections before the filing limit§ 424.44 | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: verified against a document | XiFin: verified against a document | TELCOR RCS: verified against a document | ADSRCM: verified against a document |
| BWorks denials and files appeals§ 405.942 | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: verified against a document | XiFin: verified against a document | TELCOR RCS: verified against a document | ADSRCM: verified against a document |
| CSends patient statements and takes patient billing questions | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: verified against a document | XiFin: verified against a document | TELCOR RCS: stated by the firm | ADSRCM: verified against a document |
| DHandles payer enrollment and credentialingCMS-855B | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: not stated | XiFin: verified against a document | TELCOR RCS: not stated | ADSRCM: stated by the firm |
| EGives the lab its own reports or dashboard | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: verified against a document | XiFin: verified against a document | TELCOR RCS: verified against a document | ADSRCM: verified against a document |
| FTakes accessions from the lab's LIS by interface | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: verified against a document | XiFin: verified against a document | TELCOR RCS: verified against a document | ADSRCM: verified against a document |
| GNames toxicology billing | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: not stated | XiFin: stated by the firm | TELCOR RCS: verified against a document | ADSRCM: stated by the firm |
| HNames molecular and genetic billing | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: verified against a document | XiFin: stated by the firm | TELCOR RCS: verified against a document | ADSRCM: verified against a document |
| INames anatomic pathology billing | PGM Billing: verified against a document | Quadax: verified against a document | XiFin: verified against a document | TELCOR RCS: verified against a document | ADSRCM: stated by the firm |
Company by company
PGM BillingColumn 1
What it is
An independently owned lab and physician billing company, in business since 1981, that takes over billing on its own platform, which it also licenses as lab billing software. Its lab pages cover claims, denial follow-up and appeals, patient statements and calls, an HL7 bridge from your LIS, and credentialing that includes Medicare enrollment and revalidation.
Who it fits
An independent clinical, reference or outreach lab that wants to hand over the whole billing office. PGM says it works with labs from single-location sites to multi-site operations.
What it takes on, and where it says so
ASubmits claims and works rejections before the filing limit
§ 424.44 verified, source
BWorks denials and files appeals
§ 405.942 verified, source
CSends patient statements and takes patient billing questions
verified, source
DHandles payer enrollment and credentialing
CMS-855B verified, source
EGives the lab its own reports or dashboard
verified, source
FTakes accessions from the lab's LIS by interface
verified, source
GNames toxicology billing
verified, source
HNames molecular and genetic billing
verified, source
INames anatomic pathology billing
verified, source
QuadaxColumn 2
What it is
A lab revenue cycle company that sells three models on one platform: software your staff runs, full-service billing by its own lab billing specialists, or a hybrid of the two. Its module pages cover claims, patient statements with print and mail, denial worklists and appeal packages, and analytics.
Who it fits
A lab that wants to outsource part of the work now, keep oversight of the rest, and be able to move between in-house and outsourced later without changing systems.
What it takes on, and where it says so
ASubmits claims and works rejections before the filing limit
§ 424.44 verified, source
BWorks denials and files appeals
§ 405.942 verified, source
CSends patient statements and takes patient billing questions
verified, source
DHandles payer enrollment and credentialing
CMS-855B not stated; check with the firm
EGives the lab its own reports or dashboard
verified, source
FTakes accessions from the lab's LIS by interface
verified, source
GNames toxicology billing
not stated; check with the firm
HNames molecular and genetic billing
verified, source
INames anatomic pathology billing
verified, source
XiFinColumn 3
What it is
XiFin's outsourced billing team works on the same Empower RCM platform it sells as software, and XiFin also sells its own LIS. Its service pages cover claims submission and follow-up, appeal plans with letters of medical necessity, payment posting, calls with ordering physicians and patients, and payer enrollment.
Who it fits
A molecular, esoteric or hospital outreach lab with a large commercial payer book that wants payer enrollment, appeals and reporting from one company.
What it takes on, and where it says so
ASubmits claims and works rejections before the filing limit
§ 424.44 verified, source
BWorks denials and files appeals
§ 405.942 verified, source
CSends patient statements and takes patient billing questions
verified, source
DHandles payer enrollment and credentialing
CMS-855B verified, source
EGives the lab its own reports or dashboard
verified, source
FTakes accessions from the lab's LIS by interface
verified, source
GNames toxicology billing
stated, firm page; check with the firm
HNames molecular and genetic billing
stated, firm page; check with the firm
INames anatomic pathology billing
verified, source
TELCOR RCSColumn 4
What it is
TELCOR Revenue Cycle Services is TELCOR's outsourced billing team, run on the TELCOR RCM software the company also sells. TELCOR says the team is entirely U.S.-based and manages claims, denials, appeals and follow-up, with real-time dashboards for the lab.
Who it fits
An independent lab or outreach program that wants an outsourced team now and the option to run the same software in-house later.
What it takes on, and where it says so
ASubmits claims and works rejections before the filing limit
§ 424.44 verified, source
BWorks denials and files appeals
§ 405.942 verified, source
CSends patient statements and takes patient billing questions
stated, firm page; check with the firm
DHandles payer enrollment and credentialing
CMS-855B not stated; check with the firm
EGives the lab its own reports or dashboard
verified, source
FTakes accessions from the lab's LIS by interface
verified, source
GNames toxicology billing
verified, source
HNames molecular and genetic billing
verified, source
INames anatomic pathology billing
verified, source
ADSRCMColumn 5
What it is
Advanced Data Systems' outsourced lab billing service, run on its own MedicsPremier platform, which ADS also sells to labs that bill in-house. Its lab page lists eligibility checks, claim scrubbing, denial work with appeals, payment posting, patient statements and reports.
Who it fits
A toxicology, molecular or clinical lab that wants outsourced billing with a volume-based fee and the choice of moving to in-house software from the same vendor.
What it takes on, and where it says so
ASubmits claims and works rejections before the filing limit
§ 424.44 verified, source
BWorks denials and files appeals
§ 405.942 verified, source
CSends patient statements and takes patient billing questions
verified, source
DHandles payer enrollment and credentialing
CMS-855B stated, firm page; check with the firm
EGives the lab its own reports or dashboard
verified, source
FTakes accessions from the lab's LIS by interface
verified, source
GNames toxicology billing
stated, firm page; check with the firm
HNames molecular and genetic billing
verified, source
INames anatomic pathology billing
stated, firm page; check with the firm
What stays with the lab
A billing company can do almost all of the work. It cannot take the lab's name off the claim. These are the duties Medicare still holds the lab to after the hand-over, with the CMS text behind each.
| Duty | The billing company can | What stays with the lab | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| AMedicare enrollment | Prepare the CMS-855B or PECOS application and track it. | The lab enrolls as the supplier and lists its billing agency in Section 8. The correspondence address cannot be the billing agency's. | CMS-855B § 8 |
| BClaim accuracy | Code, scrub and submit every claim. | “Even if you use a billing agency/agent, you remain responsible for the accuracy of the claims submitted on your behalf.” | CMS-855B § 8 |
| CDiagnosis codes | Code from the physician's narrative, or ask the office. | No code may go on a Medicare claim without diagnostic information from the ordering physician. | Ch. 16 § 120.1 |
| DABN delivery | Put GA on the lines a signed ABN covers. | “The billing entity will always be held responsible for effective delivery regardless of who gives the notice.” | Ch. 30 § 50.3 |
| ECLIA number | Carry it onto every claim from the LIS feed. | The certificate is the lab's, and CMS asks for the number on all laboratory services claims. | MLN006270 |
| FFiling and appeal clocks | Work rejections and denials inside the limits. | A claim not filed within 1 calendar year after the date of service, or a denial not appealed within 120 days of the notice, is the lab's lost revenue. | § 424.44, § 405.942 |
| GMedicare payments | Post payments and reconcile remits. | Payment to an agent is always made in the lab's name, and an agent that receives it may not be paid in a way related to the amounts billed or collected. | § 424.73(b)(3) |
Row F's appeal limit: 42 CFR 405.942.
A biller's mistake is your overpayment
The Medicare enrollment form says it in one line: you remain responsible for the accuracy of claims a billing agency submits for you (CMS-855B, Section 8). If an audit finds claims coded wrong, the lab is the party answering for them. Your contract decides what the company owes you back.
How lab billing companies charge
Most outsourced lab billing is sold as a share of what the company collects for you. ADS says so on its own lab page: “Outsourced lab billing is usually priced as a percentage of collections.” It adds that ADSRCM uses a sliding scale based on volume and quotes only after reviewing the lab.
The others describe the shape, not the rate. XiFin sells outsourcing as a variable cost that “aligns with testing or device volume changes”, against the fixed cost of an in-house team. PGM calls its fee “incentive-based”. TELCOR describes its own cost model as “Transparent, No Hidden Fees” and says other providers' fees may include a percentage of collections. Quadax publishes no fee basis on the pages we read.
What Medicare says about a percentage fee
Medicare will pay a billing company in the lab's name only if its pay “is not related in any way to the dollar amounts billed or collected” and does not depend on collection (§ 424.73(b)(3), applied to suppliers by § 424.80(b)(5)). The Claims Processing Manual explains that those conditions “do not apply if the agent merely prepares bills for the provider and does not receive and negotiate the checks” (Ch. 1 § 30.2.4). In practice, a percentage deal works when Medicare pays into the lab's own account and the biller only prepares and follows up the claims.
Why a percentage deal needs an audit clause
The HHS Office of Inspector General's compliance guidance for third-party billing companies notes “a longstanding concern that percentage billing arrangements may increase the risk of upcoding and similar abusive billing practices.” Keep the right to audit the company's coding, and read the audit report yourself.
Takeaway
What to read in the contract
The fee is one line of a billing contract, and rarely the one that hurts. Lighthouse Lab Services, a lab consultancy that audits billing companies for labs, lists the terms it checks in its guide to lab billing contracts. We kept the terms and left out its benchmark figures.
Contract terms to settle before you sign
- What the fee coversAll-inclusive, or credentialing, coding and statements extra
- Patient statementsHow many go out before the account moves on
- AppealsHow many levels before a claim is written off
- CodingWho assigns CPT and diagnosis codes, and with what staff
- Initial termCommonly two to three years, per Lighthouse
- RenewalWatch automatic renewals with a short notice window
- LeavingWho works the open A/R after you terminate
- Offshoring and auditsWhere the work is done; your right to audit
Lighthouse's advice on renewals is specific: an evergreen clause can lock a lab in for years if it misses a notice window months before renewal, so look for the right to leave on 90 days' notice after the first term. Ask too what happens to claims still open on the day you leave; the company will want to keep working them, and the contract should say on what terms.
Takeaway
Outsource, keep in-house, or both
All five also sell the platform their billers use. Quadax names three models outright: software your staff runs, full-service billing, and a hybrid. XiFin says a lab can outsource all or part of its billing and move between the models as its needs change. TELCOR runs its service team on the software it licenses, ADS runs ADSRCM on MedicsPremier, and PGM licenses its own lab billing software too. The two platforms behind TELCOR's and XiFin's services are set side by side in XiFin vs TELCOR compared.
That matters on the day you want to leave. If the company's software is what you would run in-house, bringing billing back can mean hiring billers rather than migrating systems. If not, plan for a data export and an LIS interface rebuild. The software side of the same vendors is compared in lab billing software compared.
A third option: an auditor, not a biller
Some labs keep their biller and pay someone else to check it. Lighthouse Lab Services sells revenue cycle audits, payer contracting and help choosing a billing company. Its pages describe consulting and audits rather than running claims, so it is not in the table above. Its lab director work is in our lab director and consulting services comparison.
Takeaway
Questions to ask before you sign
- Which of our payers will you enroll us with, and who keeps the revalidation dates?
- How do our accessions reach you: an HL7 interface from our LIS, a file, or keying? Who builds and maintains it?
- Who on your team codes our claims, and what do you do when a requisition has no diagnosis code?
- Where do Medicare payments land, and what exactly is your fee a share of?
- How many appeal levels do you file before writing a claim off, and do you tell us before you do?
- How many statements does a patient get, and who answers when the patient calls?
- Which reports do we see without asking, and can we see denials by payer and by test?
- Where is the work done, and can we audit your coding?
- If we leave, who works the open A/R, on what terms, and in what format do we get our data back?
Know the lines a biller will put on your claims before the first call: the QW modifier for CLIA-waived tests, CPT 36415 for the blood draw, the rates in the Clinical Laboratory Fee Schedule, and your CLIA number, which CMS asks you to include on all laboratory services claims (look up a CLIA number).
Takeaway
How this comparison was made
We read each company's own service, module and FAQ pages, Form CMS-855B, 42 CFR 424.73, 424.80, 405.942 and 424.44, Medicare Claims Processing Manual chapters 1, 16 and 30, and the OIG's compliance guidance for third-party billing companies, last on .
A filled well means we verified the claim against a document we could read and link: the firm's own documentation or a regulator's record. An open ring means the firm says so in its own material, but we found no document to check it against. A blank well means we found nothing either way, which does not prove the product lacks it.
Verdicts are editorial: no organization can buy a verdict position or displace another. This page carries no prices and no ratings; ask each firm for its current fees and terms before you commit.
For these service companies a filled well means a dedicated service or module page of the company describes that item, and we link it. A ring means an overview page, a general software page, a FAQ elsewhere on the site or a one-word list item says so. Nothing found is a blank well. All five run their service on software they also sell; where a module page describes the platform their billers use, we counted it. We left out companies whose lab billing we could not find on their own site, and consultancies that audit billing without running it.
Questions labs ask
Can a lab billing company charge a percentage of what it collects?
Yes, as long as Medicare does not pay the company. If the company receives Medicare payments in your name, its pay may not be related to the amounts billed or collected (§ 424.73(b)(3)). The Claims Processing Manual says those conditions do not apply when the company only prepares the bills and does not receive the checks (Ch. 1 § 30.2.4). So in a percentage contract, have Medicare pay into the lab's own account.
Do we have to tell Medicare we use a billing company?
Yes. Section 8 of the CMS-855B asks for your billing agency's details, and you report a change of agency the same way, through PECOS or the paper form. The form also says the correspondence address on your enrollment cannot be the billing agency's.
Can the billing company fix a missing diagnosis code for us?
Only from what the ordering physician supplied. A lab “may not report on a claim for Medicare payment a diagnosis code in the absence of physician-supplied diagnostic information supporting such code” (Ch. 16 § 120.1). A good biller holds the claim and goes back to the office, which is why the requisition and the LIS interface matter more than the biller's speed.
Does a physician office lab need a lab billing company?
Often not. When the lab sits inside a practice, its tests can usually go out with the practice's own claims, through whoever already bills its visits; check that with your biller. The companies here are built for independent, reference and outreach labs that bill payers, patients and client offices themselves. A POL that is weighing an LIS rather than a biller should start with LIS software for small labs compared.
How long does a switch to a new billing company take?
XiFin says a lab can outsource all or part of its billing “in as little as 30 days”; the other four give no timeline on the pages we read. Plan around the slow parts: the LIS interface, payer enrollment changes, and the old company finishing its open A/R.
Why are there no prices on this page?
None of the five publishes a rate on the pages we read, and a fee only means something next to what it covers. Ask each for a written quote on your own claim volume, payer mix and test menu, with the services it includes.